Vance & Hines XR 1200 Series Heads to Miller


Miller Motorsports Park in Utah plays host to round three of the AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 Series this Memorial Day weekend. 2010 Series Champ Danny Eslick is making a surprise return for the Miller round.  Although Danny won every race he entered last season, it will be interesting to see how he does against a much larger field,  as well as riders who now have a lot more races under their belts on the XR1200.

MMP was the site of last month’s test that saw RMR rider Kyle Wyman run the fastest lap of the seven XR1200 riders in attendance. Wyman was the winner of round one in Daytona, but struggled at round two’s Infineon Raceway where he had never raced before, and ended up crashing out late in the race while battling for fourth place.

We recently caught up with Kyle and asked him his thoughts on MMP this weekend and his thoughts on Danny’s return to the grid on the XR1200: “Danny is one tough racer… It’s going to be a good race. I’m feeling pretty good about Miller though, it’s definitely my style. I like the GP-like corners especially in the beginning part of the track.”

With so many variables and a diverse set of riders in the XR1200 Series, every race is packed with thrills and spills, and for the first time this year you can catch the XR1200 action on SPEED and SPEED2 during the Memorial Day weekend, comprising a live broadcast on SPEED2 (Monday, May 30, at 12:20 p.m. PST) and inclusion in SPEED’s AMA Pro Road Racing Special (Monday, May 30, at 9 p.m. PST).
Entry list as of May 26, 2011:

1 Danny Eslick
3 Joe Kopp
10 Josh Chisum
11 Michael Morgan
15 Michael Corbino
19 Chase McFarland
29 Tyler OHara
33 Kyle Wyman
34 Michael Barnes
35 Matthew Heidel
55 Chris Fillmore
60 Michael Beck
64 Jeremiah Johnson
70 Paul James
72 Troy Siahaan
88 Gerry Signorelli