Round #4 Vance & Hines XR1200 Race Report From New Jersey


Round 4 of the Vance & Hines XR1200 Series saw RMR Bruce Rossmeyer Daytona Racing’s Jake Holden take his first win of the season on the XR1200 and at the same time move into points lead for the championship. Meanwhile, 17-year-old rising star, PJ Jacobsen fought an intense race-long battle with fellow up-can-comer Kyle Wyman to claim the second spot on the rostrum by a margin of just two-tenths of a second.

Danny Eslick, who had won the first three rounds of the series decided to sit out this weekend in order to fully focus on defending his Daytona Sportbike crown, where he maintains a slight margin in the points going into the final round at Barber Motorsports Park. Holden, however, took no prisoners this weekend, setting the fastest times in each session, grabbing the pole position, setting the fastest lap of the race and winning the race by a commanding margin.

Beyond the top three finishers, moto journalist, Steve Atlas acquitted himself impressively in his first outing on the XR riding for HOG Racing. Atlas ran consistently in the top five throughout the weekend, nailed a front row starting position in qualifying and brought the bike home unscathed for a very respectable fourth place finish. Travis Wyman, Joseph Rozynski, Paul James, Michael Corbino and Matthew Heidel rounded out the field, which saw every rider take the checkered flag without incident.

One race remains for the debut season of the AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 Series, which will take place at the famed Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Alabama, September24-26. The XR1200 Series has quickly become a fan favorite at the track, bringing the unique v-twin rumble of the Harley-Davidson to the traditionally four-cylinder dominated road race scene. As several more dealers and new teams prepare for next season, expect to see a growing field of riders competing in the XR1200 class, which aims to become a regular fixture on the AMA Pro calendar.

1. Jake Holden (12 laps)
2. PJ Jacobsen (10.161)
3. Kyle Wyman (10.364)
4. Steve Atlas (19.775)
5. Travis Wyman (49.568)
6. Joseph Rozynski (51.556)
7. Paul James (1:01.618)
8. Michael Corbino (1:07.039)
9. Matthew Heidel (-1 lap)

[nggallery id=8]